How do graphic designers organize their graphic folder?

DeletedUser40486

Question is exactly as title says, I am total little over beginner, have literally no training, so self taught by looking at guides and CnC. Since i am downloading lot of resources and it is starting to get cluttered, I wondered how do graphic designers organize their graphic folder, If somebody can give me idea it be great. Thanks.

Also names of folder, i know few i.e. render,abstract,fractal,stock,texture...... is there anything i am missing?

erik.cartman

do them by type first
vector, raster, clipart, background, texture, filter,
then with in each type you can make different categories base on your preference
event, color, season, objects

DeletedUser40486

Okay, thankyou for your prompt reply. background folder it this for images like stock? , what does raster and filter folders stand for?

DeletedUser

I have a touch of OCD when it comes to organising files on my computer. Useful though when I need to find something :p

Resources layout is fairly standard for me:
[SPOIL]
resourcesfolders.png
[/SPOIL]

Some such as the games cut-out folder will have further folders if I have a lot from the same game or from a resource pack:
[SPOIL]
screenshot20121222at122.png
[/SPOIL]

My Works folder is laid our in a similar fashion to the resources folder:
[SPOIL]
workfolders.png
[/SPOIL]

Some psd and png folders will have further sub-folders. My larger pieces folder for example contains a lot of work that uses similar dimensions and layouts, so when I need to access them quickly having it organised s rather useful:
[SPOIL]
screenshot20121222at124t.png
[/SPOIL]

I also have a graphics folder on my desktop for any downloads or screenshots to go before they get organised.

Every designers organisation is different, so just go with what you will find natural to you :)

DeletedUser

It's mostly up to you.

I prefer to have them folder-ed by resource type so I can easily browse that section when needed.