World.dat

TheAssassin011

Where has the world.dat file gone? It gives you the forest positions etc.

Everyone links to it here: http://die-staemme.de/stuff/world.dat but it no longer exists. I know the world.dat file is the same for all worlds and it doesn't change so if anyone has it if they could post it somewhere for download? That would be a big help. I've spent hours searching google for it with no luck.

Bykenhulle

Non-stop Poster
I'm still not sure on what to do with it lol, I have tried importing it into a mysql database ... it didnt work ... guess when it comes to the basics I'm still learning lol

Can anyone give me a few starting pointers?

lonestar1

my guess is tomcencs the man to ask,

I looked into it when tom first posted but my best guess was it was to let you know where scenery is like trees on the map so you can create an accurate representation of the world map although for that I would have expected one file for each world
all I know Im afraid

twenty-five

Contributing Poster
my guess is tomcencs the man to ask,

I looked into it when tom first posted but my best guess was it was to let you know where scenery is like trees on the map so you can create an accurate representation of the world map although for that I would have expected one file for each world
all I know Im afraid
The trees, lakes and hills are in the same place every world at least I think they are.

Last edited:

Morthy

Developer
The .dat files are binary data representing the objects (such as trees, hills, water) in each coordinate of the world. There are two versions. One version is used on w54, w59, HP and speed. The other is used on all other worlds. Each byte is a number representing a certain object.

@Humble: afaik every empty space can spawn a village.

A humble player

Contributing Poster