Basics - Must read for novice's

DeletedUser

Okay so before I start I would like to say I am not amazing, I am still learning sig making and i know most intermediate and expert effects, but I am still learning usage of them.

But anyway,
I cruise this part of the forum everyday practically and I always see the same mistakes repeated over and over.

So I'm gonna try and give you the same crash course I gave my friend and make this as SHORT and EASY as possible :)

1. RENDER
I am constantly seeing people choosing low quality renders or trying to render themselves. Now for beginners this can be hard. I have only just learnt to render fully and that takes loads of pentool work.

So tips for choosing render:
QUALITY - no pixels or blurred edges
SIZE - dont worry about it
COLOUR -
(yeh im British) look for something with few colours
ANIME - for beginners these are the best renders.

2. BACKGROUND
Try using stocks to do with the render or simple gradient background and smudge the s*** out of it :) then try overlaying other stocks for effect, ie. stars or buildings.

If you dont know where to get stocks go here:
http://graphicscore.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=247

It may take a while to dload them but its worth it, especially for when you start making sigs straight from stocks.

3. RENDER PLACEMENT
Rule of thirds
(google it) never use symetry (sp?) or center

4. FLOW
Look at the direction of the render and use pentooling to create depthflow.
If you look at this render
(mine :p) the flow would follow the body shape from horn to tail. This is a bad example though, but it avoids copyright.
narwhal.png

5. BLENDING AND LIGHTING
The most important thing to create realism.

Lighting is easy, using a 150-200px white brush click up to 3 times where the light source should be. Then set this to overlay or soft light.

rx7e.png

This tag of mine shows good use of light source in the top left. Also it shows what flow can be achieved with a pentool.