Tribal Wars, A Dying Game?

Michael Corleone.

Alright, attempt #2 on this since my last attempt at this for whatever reason was never approved.

Let me start off by saying in by no way am I knocking or mocking the game of Tribal Wars or any of the staff that works here on Tribal Wars. Believe it or not, I do appreciate the work you guys put in to run this game, and for that I thank you for it. But now lets get down to business since I believe this could be a very interesting topic to talk about. Tribal Wars has been around for a few years now, and I remember back when I started playing in 2008, this game was pretty popular on the internet. I remember seeing countless advertisements for this game back in my early days, but as my playing days progressed, I began to see less and less advertisements and today, I don't think I have seen any at all anywhere. I didn't think much of it, and basically ignored that until one my friends here mentioned that Tribal Wars only has 200K+ players, or at least thats what it says on the front page of tribalwars.net. As of today, there are 224,905. However, back in 2008, I do thank Gorth for this link, .net had many, many more players. And to show you all that:

http://web.archive.org/web/20080421105206/http://www.tribalwars.net/

^ That is a picture of the .net front page more then 2 years ago when W19 just came out, and as you can see, there were 800k+ players back then. Now, did I just see that right? 800k+ players back in 2008? We have nearly 225k+ players in 2010, so in the matter of 2 years, where did 600K players go? Did they all just disappear from .net? I found this pretty alarming to tell you the truth. But another friend of mine linked me to a post from Thargoran on the .us forums, yes, there is a .us server in TW just in case you haven't noticed, and he showed that it was not only .net thats been on the decline, but other servers as well: